The advancement program for Boy Scouts.

The process of Scout to First Class is designed to teach the boy Scoutcraft skills, how to participate in a group and to learn self-reliance.  The Scout is the joining rank, and is awarded when the Scout demonstrates a rudimentary knowledge of the Scouting ideals.
Each rank have progressively harder requirements in the areas of Scoutcraft, physical fitness, citizenship, personal growth and Scout Spirit.
The Scout's focus then turns toward individual achievement, leadership and community service once First Class is earned.

      Scout          Tenderfoot     Second Class   First Class       Star Scout        Life Scout     Eagle Scout

Please note that the BSA have changed some of the rank requirements. For more information, consult these links:

These ranks  require a set number of merit badges (minimum of 21 for Eagle Scout, with 12 from a compulsory list), as well as a minimum of time spent in a troop leadership position, and community service requirements, among other things. The rank of Eagle Scout requires the scout plan, develop and lead their own service project that benefits their community or an organization other than Scouting.
There are also many other advancement and recognition.
Religious emblems programs
50-Miler Award
Crime Prevention Awards
Emergency Preparedness Award
World Conservation Award
Positions of responsibility
The Scout is also required to holding some sort of responsibility in the troop as he advances higher in his ranks.
Senior patrol leader
Assistant senior patrol leader
Chaplain's aide   
Patrol leaders
Assistant patrol leaders
Den Chiefs
Honors and awards of the Order of the Arrow
The Order of the Arrow (OA) is a program of the Boy Scout division of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). It is the BSA's national honor society for experienced campers, based on American Indian traditions, and dedicated to the ideal of cheerful service.
Awards are separate and distinct from the membership levels of Ordeal and Brotherhood. Awards available through the Order of the Arrow include:
Vigil Honor,
Founder's Award,
Distinguished Service Award,
Lifetime Achievement Award,
Red Arrow Award,
E. Urner Goodman Camping Award,
E. Urner Goodman, Scholarship Fund, National Service Award.
Scholastic awards are also available to Arrowmen to aid in education expenses